ICDD Awards - Hanawalt Award


Honoring Joseph Donald (Don) Hanawalt  

Don Hanawalt joined The Dow Chemical Company as a Physicist in 1931 and became a Corporate Vice President by 1953. While Director of the Spectroscopy Laboratory in 1936, Don wrote his famous paper with co-author Sid Rinn on “The Identification of Crystalline Materials” which, along with a 1938 publication, are considered the foundation of powder X-ray diffraction as an analytical technique. Upon retirement in 1964, Don became Professor in the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan. He is also famous for his pioneering work in magnesium processing and alloy production. Don served as ICDD Chairman of the Board of Directors from 1976-1978.


Hanawalt Award
This award is named in honor of J. Donald Hanawalt, whose pioneering work in the 1930s led to the development of the PDF database structure and search/match procedures still in use today. The purpose of the award is to recognize distinguished, recent work in the field of powder diffraction. The award is presented every three years.

Selection Process
Awardees are chosen by the Hanawalt Award Selection Committee, which is comprised of past recipients. Work eligible for consideration must have been published within the past five years.

Award Presentation
The Hanawalt Award is presented at an appropriate powder diffraction/crystallographic meeting. The recipient is expected to submit an abstract and present a paper on the work being recognized.  The award consists of a commemorative plaque, a gift of $1,000, and the recipient's travel expenses to the meeting, in accordance with ICDD’s Travel Policy.

Submission Process
Nominations of candidates may be submitted to the Chairman of the Hanawalt Award Selection Committee (see below) by completing a Nomination Form. In addition to the nomination form, the candidate's curriculum vitae must be sent via e-mail to awards@icdd.com.

Chairman, Hanawalt Award Selection Committee
c/o The Corporate Secretary
International Centre for Diffraction Data
12 Campus Boulevard
Newtown Square Corporate Campus
Newtown Square, PA 19073-3273 U.S.A.
Fax: 610.325.9823
E-mail: awards@icdd.com

Submission Deadline
Submissions must be made by 15 August for the next year's award.



Matteo Leoni


Paolo Scardi


Robert Von Dreele


Simon Billinge


Takeshi Egami


Tamás Ungár


Robert L. Snyder**


Raymond P. Goehner


Joseph R. Michael


Herbert Göbel 


Daniel Louër 


William Parrish**


Ludo K. Frevel**